Here at Planhat we understand the importance of assigning your team specific roles with the relevant permissions. The "Roles" feature is incredibly powerful and gives you the ability to lockdown almost every area of the application! The "Roles" page is located on the "Team" module which you will find on the left sidebar 👍.

We're going to discuss everything that you need to know about creating roles and setting permissions. Grab a coffee and let's dive straight in! ☕

How to Create a Role

Creating a role in Planhat is quick and easy! Follow these 3 simple steps:

  1. Go to the "Team" module which you will find on the left sidebar and then click on the "Roles" tab.
  2. At the top of the "Roles" page there's a button named "Add Role", click on it and a form will appear.
  3. Give your role a name and description and then click "Save".

If you would like to rename, clone or remove a role, click on the ellipsis icon on the right hand side of the role.

📣 Pro tip: Cloning

If you click on the ellipsis icon which is located on the right hand side of your role and select "Clone", it will completely clone all of the roles permissions. This is great if you have two roles that are very similar and you don't want to go through and set all of the permissions again 😃.


Role Permissions

Once you have created a role the next step is to set the permissions. Click on your role and the permission options will appear on the right hand side. The permissions are broken down into three sections and I'm going to explain what you can do in each of those sections. Warning: the amount of power and flexibility in the permissions section is mind-blowing 🤯.

1. Portfolio Access

The "Portfolio Access" determines which accounts the user will have access to. There are several options to choose from:

  • Only my portfolio: this will give the user access to accounts where they're the "Owner" or "Co-Owner".
  • Full Access: the user will have access to every account.
  • Team Access: this permission will give the user access to their team members accounts where their team members are the "Owner" or "Co-Owner" of the account. The user will need to be the manager of the team. If you want to learn more about setting up teams in Planhat, check out this article 👍.
  • Filter based: create a filter so that your users only have access to a specific set of accounts e.g. only have access to companies in the "Renewal" phase. If you would like to know more about filters, check out this article 📚.

📣 Pro tip: Extended Groups

If you enable the "Extended Groups" option you will have access to any company in any group. If you haven't heard about "Group Structures" and would like to know more, then check out this article 👍.

2. Data Models Permissions

The "Data Models Permissions" section is incredibly powerful! You get to choose what level of access rights the user has for each data model in Planhat. For each data model you have the following options:

Simply click on each of the toggle switches to activate or deactivate the permission (blue is on and grey is off).

If for example you wanted to hide the "End-User" tab on the "Data" module, you would scroll down until you see the "EndUser" data model and turn off the "View". Now, any user with this role won't be able to see the "End-User" tab. Similarly you can stop users from creating, updating, removing and exporting end-users by deactivating the relevant the permissions. This is just one example, there are lots of data models that you can apply these permissions to 😄!


If you're not sure what a specific permission does, please reach out to support or contact your CSM 😃. I have listed several "Data Models Permissions" below and explained what each of them do:

  • Activity: enable or disable the "User Activities" export on the "Customer Intelligence" module.
  • Activity Fail: if this permission is enabled you will be able to view the list of failed activities on the "Customer Intelligence" module > "User Activities" page. If you have failed activities a warning sign will appear at the top of the page which you can click on to view the metrics that have failed to import.
  • ActivityTag: this permission gives you the ability to edit and create "Labels" that appear on Activities.
  • Campaign: the "Campaign" permissions give you the ability to: disable or enable the "NPS" module and export option.

Data Model Properties

Directly below some of the data models you will see the message "+ show 'x' properties". If you click on the message, you will be presented with a list of fields that belong to that data model. For each field you have the options "View" and "Update" so if you don't want your user to view or update specific fields, simply disable those permissions.

3. Workflow Permissions

The "Workflow Permissions" section is made up of two parts:

3.1. Modules

In the "Modules" section you can enable or disable any of the nine modules. For example, if I wanted to disable the "Data" module, I would disable the "Customer Data" permission. Any user with this role would no longer be able to access the "Data" module.

3.2. Features

The "Features" sections gives you ability to enable and disable a wide range of features within Planhat. Here's the complete list of features:

  • Admin Access: access to various system settings across the application.
  • Customer Portals: ability to enable the Customer Portal for specific customers and see the link on the company profile.
  • Group Structures: manage and view company group structures.
  • Import: option to upload data in a spreadsheet (model permissions still apply).
  • Manage Tags: ability to create NEW company and end-user tags. Other users can still apply or remove existing tags from profiles.
  • Outreach: widget to send emails and chat messages (via Intercom) from Planhat.
  • Planhat Support Chat: ability to contact Planhat Support via our in-app chat.
  • Revenue Forecasting: enables License forecasting fields in the application as well as manual forecast options in the revenue reports.
  • Share Filters: gives the user the option to share filters with the whole team by making them public.
  • Share Folders: gives the user the option to share the folder with specific team members, or the whole team.
  • Metrics: build calculated metrics and track the changes over time. Enables CI > System Reports, CI > Trends and Analytics as well as the metrics sections of the company and end-user profiles.
  • User Tracking: usage data can always be sent to Planhat, but if this module is inactive related data such as "User Last Active" will not be visible in the app.

Roles and Permissions Video

Check out our video on "Roles and Permissions" which is presented by Gurprem Sagoo 🙌.

It's important to note that the "Roles" feature is only available on the Planhat Enterprise plan currently. If you need any assistance or would like to discuss this in more detail please let your Planhat CSM know or contact support 👍.

Did this answer your question?