Choose Which Keyables to Merge End Users on

In addition to being able to merge End User profiles individually, we offer the ability to do this in bulk, for End Users on the same company. You can select whether to merge End Users based on matching email addresses, external ID, source ID (or all 3).

📌 This is only available to users with the ‘Administrator’ role and can be found by clicking on your avatar in the bottom-left corner and selecting 'Powertools'

You can also choose to "Allow matching null values in the Merge Process". If this is enabled, and you have selected at least 2 keyables to merge on, this means that you will merge duplicate End Users that match "positively" on one keyable, but match with null values on another of the selected keyables. If this setting is instead disabled, positive match on all selected keyables will be required in order to merge the End Users. Please note that you can not allow matching null values in the Merge Process if you have only selected one keyable - otherwise, all End Users on all companies with "null" values for e.g. external ID, would be merged!

The Rules for Duplicates and Merging

Any email address, external ID or source ID duplicates are permitted for End Users by Planhat's data structure, if they belong to different companies. This is to support the existence of the same individual, as an End User, in association with more than one company.

However, it is sometimes the case that there are duplicate End Users on the same company. This can either be due to parallel API requests, manual changes to keyable fields from the UI, or due to importing End Users from multiple sources (e.g. Usage data import & CRM system import) with different/absent keyables.

The Merge Powertool will allow you to merge on selected keyables (email, external ID, source ID), on the same company. Duplicates on different companies are not "considered" duplicates.

📌 Matches on all selected keyables are required for the End Users to Merge. If you enable matching null values, all values on relevant keyables must be null in order for it to be considered a match.

What Data is Merged?

Technically, one End User is not "kept" while the other is deleted - both, or all, Merged End Users are deleted, and replaced with a single "new" End User which adopts the data of the old, merged, End Users. This means that any data - fields, activities, metrics, conversations, notes, are retained (or merged). In the case of calculated metrics, or usage metrics, please note that the underlying data is merged, but the metrics will not display any data until they are rebuilt, either manually or by the daily job.

Did this answer your question?